Cookies on this website
To improve your experience, we and selected third parties, use cookies to provide embedded content from social media, analyse traffic on our website and provide secure access to our site. To agree to this please click Accept or for more information and to change your settings view our cookie policy.
Skip Navigation

Lana Wood's Winning Design for Station Roundabout

Home / Blog / Lana Wood's Winning Design for Station Roundabout


Lana Wood of Westlands Community Primary School created the winning design in this year's Sittingbourne in Bloom - ‘Design the Station Roundabout’ Competition which will be used as the basis for the planting and a plaque will be displayed crediting her as the designer.

The Mayor of the Borough of Swale, Cllr George Bobbin, presented the prizes for the 2015 Sittingbourne in Bloom ‘Design the Station Roundabout’ competition in his Mayoral Parlour in Swale House.

Each year Sittingbourne in Bloom invites the Sittingbourne primary schools to submit designs for the summer bedding to be planted in the town’s Station roundabout. This year’s event was felt to be especially important as there are plans to regenerate the area, and this may result in the removal of the roundabout in the future.

The In Bloom committee were delighted to receive nearly 500 entries from the 10 schools that took part. The Committee then spent many hours going through the designs to choose the 4 best designs to receive a prize. The first prize design will be used by Swale Borough and Blenwood, their green contractors, to plant up in the spring.

The other winners were: 2nd prize, Harna Beach-Martin of Lansdowne Community Primary School; 3rd prize, Amy Higgins of Regis Manor Primary School; 4th prize, Mark Calver of Minterne Community Junior School.

All the prize winners got a certificate from Sittingbourne in Bloom and a shopping voucher.


There are currently no comments.