Cookies on this website
To improve your experience, we and selected third parties, use cookies to provide embedded content from social media, analyse traffic on our website and provide secure access to our site. To agree to this please click Accept or for more information and to change your settings view our cookie policy.
Skip Navigation

Lee McMeekin wins this year’s Sittingbourne Invicta 10K Race

Home / Blog / Lee McMeekin wins this year’s Sittingbourne Invicta 10K Race
James Donaldson (2nd), Lee McMeekin (1st) and Ben Comery (3rd)

Medway & Maidstone athletics club would appear to be unstoppable producing yet another winner Lee McMeekin with a winning time of 35:25. The record for the Best Male is still held by three times winner Ben Tyler also from the Medway & Maidstone who finished in 33m 21s in 2014.

Second place went to James Donaldson (Kent AC) who completed the course in 36:09 who was very closely followed by Ben Comery with a time of 36:16

The Rotary Club of Sittingbourne Invicta’s 8th Annual 10K Race attracted 297 registrations for the main event and hundreds of children took part in the 2K Fun Run.

Best Female, Jennifer Coleman

Best Female for the second-year running was Jennifer Coleman who runs with Sittingbourne Striders and came 37th overall with a time of 43:47 minutes, beating last years winning time of 45:33

2K Winner Luke Gibson

Luke Gibson romped home in super-fast time becoming this year’s winner of the children’s 2K race

The 10K race is a community event and funds raised will be dedicated to Young Lives Foundation and Invicta’s Community Chest fund which awards grants to support work of community groups in and around Sittingbourne.

The first Rotary 10K Run was held in March 2011. Its success in drawing both club and social runners from all over Britain has allowed it to become an annual event. The first six 10K races to date have raised £40,401 for various charities.

Sittingbourne Striders

If you want to find out more about the Rotary Club of Sittingbourne Invicta or other events they are organising this year this visit their website

Andy Hudson


Showing comments 1 to 1 of 1

Amazing race , however I do not run for Kent AC. I am unaffiliated 
Comment by Ben Comery on 14 May 2018
  • 1